Reviews

9.2
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.8
Comfort
9.1
Property location
9.3
Facilities
8.6
Staff
9.9
Value
9.4

Reviews

    Andreas & Sarah
    de

    Review score

    9.6
    27 September 2018

    Perfect Rayokan experience!

    It is a traditional house and already 250 years old, you cannot expect the newest equipment. So the bathroom facilities could do with a renovation
    The room and the entire Rayokan was a really nice building. We had a wonderful stay and especially liked the great food! If you like to experience Japanese food don't miss the breakfast and the dinner! The Host are unbelievable friendly and helpful. Thanks a lot! We can really recommend this accommodation!
    Ann Macdonald
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    19 September 2018

    Good value Ang food in Togakushi

    More communal shower areas.. waiting 30 minutes to get a shower. Communal washing areas could have been cleaner.
    Food was excellent.....excellent local information...very gracious host. Excellent value for both room and food
    Ean
    nl

    Review score

    10
    27 August 2018
    Mr and mrs Oshi are a lovely (english speaking) couple who clearly love what they do. The traditional Japanese rooms are spacious, and we loved the view from our little nook. The bathroom is a little outdated, but clean . We had a great stay and can especially recommend the japanese traditional dinner!
    Sylvie
    fr

    Review score

    8.8
    3 June 2018
    Very nice location for a long WE or few days vacation, family ski resort, great hikes around , beautiful shinto shrines, warm welcome at the ryokan and excellent food, just 30 minutes drive from Nagano.
    Greg Barrett
    au

    Review score

    10
    1 May 2018

    I want to go back

    The photos gave an impression the building was newer. The signage in the photo has changed but it is easy to find if you know it is the first place on the right going down the main road from the bottom of the Hokasha Shrine steps.
    Mr Oshi and his family are delightful. His English is very good and he is happy to answer questions, a most generous host. The food was excellent. The location is great for access to the bus and walking tracks.
    Anna
    ru

    Review score

    9.2
    29 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Wim
    be

    Review score

    10
    25 April 2018

    Amazing Stay!

    Everything was great. The food, the room, the bath, and let's not forget the hospitality of this lovely couple! They speak English :) Thanks again, mr Oshi, for driving us to Nagano station!
    Shai
    de

    Review score

    10
    23 April 2018

    Cosy, lovely, homey feeling and the area is beautiful

    The couple running the Ryokan are the sweetest. Theres a cozy-homey feeling :) The location is great, beautiful views
    Edward
    jp

    Review score

    9.6
    21 March 2018

    A wonderful stay- we'll be back for sure!

    Oshi san's kindness. He e-mailed in advance with some details, and while I stayed he could not have done enough. The Oshi family are fantastic hosts. The house is beautiful!
    SEOK TING
    hk

    Review score

    9.6
    15 March 2018

    Charming historical Ryokan! Lovely meal! Great hospitality!

    Exceptional hospitality! Room is big and comfortable. The small onsen in the bathroom. Convenient location to the bus stop.
    Gemma Muir
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    13 March 2018

    Amazing hosts, wonderful location, incredible food.

    The pillows are traditional buckwheat pillows and quite firm, so this may be tricky for some. I used the cushions from the chairs instead as I've got back problems, but my husband was fine with them.
    Oshi and his wife were wonderful hosts! So friendly and helpful. Oshi speaks perfect English so this really helped as well. The food was delicious. Probably the best we've had in our 2.5 weeks in Japan so far. They even catered for some special dietary requirements and made 100% buckwheat soba noodles from scratch since I can't eat wheat (they were delicious!). Highly recommend adding dinner to your plan. The location is beautiful. Stunning scenery and right next to a beautiful shrine. Cannot recommend highly enough!
    Martin
    au

    Review score

    9.2
    26 February 2018
    Japanese style room with nice views over the garden and hills. Just loved my breakfasts and dinners...... very tasty....... wonderfully balanced ........... I could feel it doing me good.
    Arwin
    au

    Review score

    9.2
    14 February 2018
    Food was excellent, and the staff were friendly, attentive and gracious. Bear in mind it is a traditional Japanese Minka, so western style creature comforts are not all present. It was the coldest part of winter during our visit, and could get quite cold at night due to the inherent flaws of the traditional building design. Plenty of blankets and heaters were provided.
    Arthur
    br

    Review score

    10
    3 February 2018

    Excellent

    I wanted to tour nagano, so I was disappointed when I found out its 1 hour away from the city. However, the hotel is near many touristic attractions in Mt. Togakushi, such as ski resorts, museums, temples... In the end, I wish I could have stayed longer.
    The staff is really friendly and it looks like they really like to do what they're doing. They made me fell like a king. Also, their food is delicious! If your looking towards having a japanese experience, it's the perfect ryokan!
    Victor
    fr

    Review score

    9.2
    23 January 2018

    Amazing old school Ryokan with great service in a quiet, beautiful mountain area.

    Dinner was simply amazing: local food served in a private room while getting warm under the kotatsu. The staff was 100% dedicated, they accommodated the service to fit my schedule. The surrounding area is beautiful and very quiet.
    Kellee
    jp

    Review score

    9.6
    6 August 2018

    Tradition matched with fantastic guest care

    The onsen tub is communal (both genders), which wasn't well-communicated in the ryokan description on Booking, but the tub was still nice to have available and we enjoyed it.
    The hosts are lovely and personable, and the breakfast and dinner were fantastic. Definitely add both if you are staying, as the area is very quiet and other options are a bit of a walk away, and they strive to give you a good demo of unique local food & Japanese fare in general. Bus stop to/from Nagano is right around the corner from the ryokan. It's also right at the foot of the first of the Togakushi shrines - incredible cedars, and perfect if you're planning to walk the whole route.
    Lily August-Brown
    us

    Review score

    9.2
    18 July 2018
    The morning breakfast was offered western or Japanese style. It was a great meal and they were kind enough to wait for us to arrive at the bus stop. It was a long rainy day for us so it felt great to be welcomed immediately.
    Nathaniel
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    22 April 2018
    Staff was great and I absolutely loved the view! I highly recommend the Japanese style breakfast!
    Susanne
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    21 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Wei
    cn

    Review score

    10
    26 February 2018

    We will come back!

    The food is amazing!! A true home away from home experience. Oshi and his family are so nice to guests. We really like our stay there.
Loading reviews