This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

9.2 Review Score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
8.9
Comfort
9.2
Property Location
9.3
Facilities
8.7
Staff
9.9
Value
9.4
Reviews
    au
    9.6
    January 3, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    TezB
    au
    9.6
    December 27, 2017
    Beautiful area, lovely Ryokan and wonderful hosts.
    A beautiful location and lovely Ryokan but even more lovely were the hosts. Very very friendly and helpful. Host waited at the bus stop to greet us when we arrived even though it was cold and snowing. They also noticed from our passports that it was my twins’ birthday and gave them each a little gift. The home cooked dinner was delicious and plentiful. The Togakushi Hokosha shrine is a short walk away and was beautiful with the tall cedar trees lining the steps and snow falling. Would love to visit both Oshi Ryokan and Togakushi area again.
    Christopher
    us
    10
    September 24, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    au
    8.3
    August 21, 2017
    Great location, hospitality and food for a short rural stay.
    Bathroom facilities need updating as are somewhat worn.
    Great hospitality and food in a small ryokan. Great location for day walks to many shrines through fabulous forests.
    Robert
    us
    10
    June 28, 2017
    Stay here!
    The owners are incredibly hospitable and thoughtful, going above and beyond to make sure I had a great stay. The room had a beautiful view, and tea is available each afternoon with a different treat accompanying it. The hiking in the area is excellent and the baths were perfect after a day of hiking. Make sure to get the meal plan--the food is delicious and thoughtfully prepared and presented. This is the best overall experience I've ever had at a hotel--don't miss it!
    Loy
    us
    10
    May 13, 2017
    Favorite Ryokan in Japan
    Great service, beautiful room, and amazing food!
    Christie
    au
    10
    May 7, 2017
    Fanstatic place!
    Nothing!
    Amazing experience! The hosts were fantastic. My baby got sick on our second night there, and Mr Oshi drove us to the hospital and stayed with us as a translator the whole time. They were so kind and helpful! The room was lovely, the food was delicious and the surrounding area is amazing. I thourhoughly recommend staying here, a perfect ryokan experience.
    Khemsuda
    th
    10
    April 16, 2017
    Terrific!
    Literally, everything! The owners, the facility (old but well-maintained) and the atmosphere are great. Perfect for an escape from reality. Food may seems pricey at first but I can assure you, it's worth trying. It was snowing when I was there so I did not explore that much but the place surely made me feel like home with warm room and kotatsu. Definitely gonna be there again!
    Elizabeth
    us
    9.6
    April 13, 2017
    Charming Ryokan. AMAZING food and staff. Convenient for Togakushi Shrine hike. A must-visit!
    If I have to be picky, the lighting is a bit harsh and takes away a bit from the naturally cozy ambiance.
    INCREDIBLE charming Ryokan just steps from the Togakushi shrine. We stayed in early April and unfortunately the snow was to high to do the full hike. Though we were disappointed about not being able to do the hike (the original reason for booking this Ryokan) we were SOOOO happy we came because the accommodation was so lovely. We will definitely be back. Great location for the shrine hike. About an hour bus ride from Nagano station. Definitely pop into the Tourist Information Office, they can give you a bus schedule. Nagano station has great shops to keep you busy if you have to wait. 50 min ride to Oshi Ryokan. Take bus number 70 or 71. To find it, exit the station and cross the street. On your left you will see a post office and the bus stop with a big number 7 on it is where you'll catch your bus. Once you arrive at Togakushi-Hokosha walk back down the hill around the bend (2 min) and it is the first driveway on your left. No English sign. Our room faced the mountains. Large windows and had tea and hot water waiting on the table. There is a space heater in the room if you need it and it works really well. They also provide Kimonos for sleeping. The couple running the Ryokan is a perfect example of why anyone should visit Japan. Warm, welcoming, and AMAZING cooks. If you do not get the meal plan for dinner and breakfast you are seriously missing out. It was one of our best meals. Also they couldn't wait to show us their new fluffy white puppy names Ryu. 10am checkout is convenient because there is a 10:18am bus that takes you back to Nagano station.
    Martin
    au
    9.2
    February 5, 2017
    250 year old ryokan
    Have been here for eight nights enjoying a highly cultural area in the snow country. Oshi Ryokan completes the picture. My tatami room sleeping room has a lovely southern aspect. The beautiful Houkousha shrine entrance is a stones throw away and the bus stop hardly any further. Hidenori and Tomoko are lovely hosts.
    maitreyi
    hk
    9.6
    December 13, 2016
    The best hotel experience in Japan so far
    i liked everything !!
    I can't rave enough about this place! I loved the experience. I am a vegetarian and the food was amazing!! We had Japanese breakfast and dinner. We skipped lunch everyday because we were outside and did not wanted to keep all the space in the stomach for their home cooked meals:) We had multiple courses and every single course was out of the world. The couple who ran the ryokan were friendly and extremely helpful. They lent us their snow shoes and they suggested where to go. They were not pushy at all. Just helpful. Please do visit this ryokan!!
    Deunden
    us
    9.2
    August 7, 2016
    A memorable experience that is highly recommended for all travelers.
    The hot bath was broken. Certain corners were not well maintained as it is a fairly large compound. Lots of work for just Mr. Oshi and his family to keep it spic and span, I can understand. But the rooms are superb.
    The owner, mr. Oshi is very helpful and friendly, always tending to your needs. He speaks English well. The place is beautiful with flower gardens and there is a private dining room for most rooms. The food is simply outstanding with ingredients of highest quality. Rooms are large and very quiet. I spent six days in the Nagano area and stayed at several places. This place is by far the best.
    Madissen
    us
    9.6
    June 8, 2016
    Tucked away yet perfectly located... a place to rejuvenate your well-traveled soul
    If you are unaware of ryokan-style sleeping, they have bean-filled pillows which you may or may not like. I had a stiff neck, but the mats were so comfy!
    Visited in late May. The couple who run this place were so welcoming that we actually felt at home! We were so happy here. This is an excellent getaway from the craziness of Tokyo. Definitely sign up for the dinners. You won't be disappointed. The food just keeps coming. It was one of the most memorable parts of our trip. When we talk about highlights we say "Oh man...those dinners at Oshi's were top-notch." They also make sure you are comfortable with your next day of activities and travel. LOVED this place.
    Sumi
    us
    1.7
    June 6, 2016
    Highly recommended!
    Beautiful location and property. Owners upgraded us for free to a huge room/suite with private bathroom. They were very welcoming and friendly, and helped us with some travel plans. Great location. Would highly recommend this place!!
    Samson
    us
    9.2
    June 1, 2016
    Beautiful garden ryokan
    the public bathroom - the bathtub is old - paint is peeling off - needs to be repaired or replaced
    the staff is super friendly - beautiful garden - room was very spacious with views to the garden
    Premysl
    cz
    9.2
    April 20, 2016
    Great Japanese hotel, worth to experience!
    Perfect location, big bath, fantastic room and service.
    phisanu
    th
    9.6
    April 18, 2016
    Super host and excellent food
    Can't really think of one.
    We stayed there for two nights, but wish we could stay longer. Oshi San is a very friendly and generous host who is ready to go an extra mile to accommodate your demand. When he heard that we want to take our five-year old daughter to Disney Sea later in our trip, he rushed to make an online booking for us. When he learnt that the tickets were sold out for our intended date, he helped us with our plan B/C to visit Studio Gibhli and Doraemon museum and eventually secure a booking for our Plan C. Yet, he still had not given up our Plan A and asked his personal connection with his travel agent friend to help us get a Disney ticket. He even drove to Nagano downtown to pick up the ticket from his friend for us. During our stay, he also drove us to places even though we told him that we can comfortably take the bus. If you are to come to stay at this place, you probably want to buy a free kippu bus ticket which will allow you to explore nearby attractions comfortably. By the way, the food there is just so great and we recommend anyone staying here to book the food as well. They are grand and give you an authentic taste of Japanese foods. Too bad, we didn't get a chance to walk the shrine trekking route but we plan to come back again and do so.
Close